RSS

Music Monday, with bonus books and video

13 Aug

Things have gotten all heavy and busy up in here, so today I thought I’d stop waxing philosophical on female authors and YA, and being inspired by the Olympics, and strange book comparisons, and just have some fun. This, of course, means music, but I’ve also been reading some good stuff recently when I needed to relax and not write (or, in one case, when I had The Plague and could do little more than whine and sniffle.)

 

Magical Bird Book does not so much have a playlist as it has the entire Decemberists catalogue on repeat, especially the song linked below, The Infanta, and Shankill Butchers, with a few other things thrown in for fun. Some Mumford & Sons, some Johnny Flynn, a ballet which will for now remain nameless so as to keep Magical Bird Book shrouded in mystery, the Alice in Wonderland soundtrack, one specific piece from a Harry Potter movie.

All credit to my agent for finding this, which is the coolest thing ever done to a completely ridiculous song:

The Mariner’s Revenge Song Comic

 

The original music from this, which (the video) was Magical Bird Book’s original inspiration, in its way:

 

The Invention of Love

 

And this:

 

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Lovegood

 

When not writing and/or listening to music, or watching YouTube videos, I’ve been reading this summer. Some highlights:
Absolutely the best book I’ve read this year was The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller. It’s adult, not YA, and a gorgeous, sweeping, epic love story set against the Battle of Troy. It was one of those books that left me bereft when it was over, just because I wasn’t ready to say goodbye.

On Writing, by Stephen King. I’m not a particular Stephen King fan–nothing against him, and there are a few books of his I like–but this memoir is wonderful. Well told, full of advice without being preachy, and entertaining.

I was also lucky enough to get my greedy hands on an advance copy of The Peculiar, by Stefan Bachmann, a middle grade gothic-steampunk-faery story. Read it when it comes out in September. DO IT. It’s amazing, and the prologue will slap you in the face. In that good way.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Music Monday, with bonus books and video

  1. Jenny Torres Sanchez

    August 13, 2012 at 11:14 am

    I adore you for introducing me to this video! My playlist for current WIP includes a lot of Decemberists songs (including this song) and a lot of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Neutral Milk Hotel, and good old Jack White. And yes to On Writing, just so lovely. Emma, do you see the blue 8 on the bunny’s back right now? I do. In a way, we are time traveling with Mr. King.

    Great post. 🙂

     
    • emmatrevayne

      August 13, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Oh, Jenny, we are such music twins. 😀

      I see the blue 8! This current book is such a challenge, but I love it so much.

      Thanks for commenting! xoxo

       

Leave a Reply

 
