RSS

CODA Cover Reveal!

29 Oct

FINALLY I CAN DO THIS!

CODA has a cover! Not just that, but there are advance copies with the cover on them! ACTUAL BOOKS!

To celebrate both, here is the cover:

Isn’t it awesome? I love that it’s dark and gritty, just like the book, and that they incorporated the coda symbol into the “O” there, which was always a maybe-not-so-hidden wish of mine. I love the speaker background and the hints of all-important blue. I love that it’s unlike anything else. There will be some tweaks to the final cover (secrets!) but this is exactly what’s on the ARCs. Which leads me to my next point…

Here is your chance to win the very first ARC of CODA I’ll give away. Very. First. No one in the world has CODA except publishing people. I’ll sign it and send it to you wherever you are on the planet or beyond. You can enter this contest if you’re hangin’ on Mars with the Rover if you want. I’d offer to doodle inside, but my sketching skills peaked at stick figures so it’s probably better if I don’t.

The book, as described on Goodreads: Ever since he was a young boy, music has coursed through the veins of eighteen-year-old Anthem—the Corp has certainly seen to that. By encoding music with addictive and mind-altering elements, the Corp holds control over all citizens, particularly conduits like Anthem, whose life energy feeds the main power in the Grid.

Anthem finds hope and comfort in the twin siblings he cares for, even as he watches the life drain slowly and painfully from his father. Escape is found in his underground rock band, where music sounds free, clear, and unencoded deep in an abandoned basement. But when a band member dies suspiciously from a tracking overdose, Anthem knows that his time has suddenly become limited. Revolution all but sings in the air, and Anthem cannot help but answer the call with the chords of choice and free will. But will the girl he loves help or hinder him?

So, if you want to get your hands on CODA months before the May release, here’s how:

In the comments, write me a 100 word story that could have this cover. The wilder and more creative, the better. Priority given to entries that use the following words in any context and any order:

  • Anthem
  • Track
  • Chrome
  • Corporation
  • Music

Brooks the Agent will help me judge, and the contest is open from right now until 5 pm EST on Wednesday, November 7th.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

20 responses to “CODA Cover Reveal!

  1. Pam

    October 29, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    The national anthem burns through my chrome headset. They play the same track every day at this time. I’m so sick of hearing it. So sick of the calming music behind the corporations words. It isn’t enough that we merely listen. With the anthem comes the syrum, and with the syrum goes my clarity. It burns and my thoughts addle. Suddenly the crooning voice becomes easier to listen to. The anthem becomes a part of me. And everything in my body down to my cells belongs to them. Until the syrum wears off again, that is.

     
  2. Camilla L.

    October 30, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Hi Emma,

    I posted my story too soon. Can I enter this version instead? 🙂

    Alex knew the man behind her hid a gun. His finger would be on the chrome trigger, ready to shot her in the back of the head if she dared to sing the dissident movement’s anthem instead of the Corporation’s own. They outlawed all other music years ago. No more rebellious messages hidden in tracks. No insubordinate idols to look up to. The only music the Corporation allowed in the District as their anthem, its notes and words crafted to further enslave the masses. Alex had this one chance to change everything. She opened her mouth and sang.

     
  3. Kazhy

    November 1, 2012 at 9:05 am

    The chrome façade of the Corporation’s HQ shone against the sunlight, blinding me. The two soldiers who tightly gripped my arms and tugged me along like a ragdoll gave me no choice but to squint until we’d reached the sliding glass doors. Once we were through, I heard the Anthem: the main track in The Soundtrack, the only seven songs that the tyrants we had for leaders would allow us to listen to. The Corporation controlled everything, from hobbies to careers, even our clothes and food. That’s why I was here. I’d tried to write my life’s own music.

    I had fun writing this 😄

     
  4. Heidi Schulz

    November 1, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    “Hand me the wire strippers.” Bill held out his hand without looking up, but still seemed to know what I was reaching for. “Not those. The chrome ones. An’ them blue wire-nuts.”
    “All I see is regular blue. What is anthem blue?”
    “Not anthem blue, you jackass. And. Them. Them blue ones right there. Try to keep track.”
    I gave him what he needed, enduring his criticism.
    “Honestly boy, I don’t know how you ever got on with the corporation. Car stereo installation is important work.”
    He was right. I resolved to do better—to bring music to the world.

     
    • Matthew Bryant

      November 5, 2012 at 7:45 am

      LOVE this interpretation of the word choice! Great job!

       
  5. Kierra

    November 1, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    I learned to hide behind the soft, hypotonic music. Let myself get taken away into the flurry of the notes. That’s what the anthem did: made you forget the world. Most people even said that it was like a drug. That’s probably the real reason why the Corporation deals it out like candy. The more we forget, the better. I sometimes wish I could just dissolve until the music and stay there forever, but reality always comes slamming back. Back to the life of misery and cruelty, where my family can’t even remember my name.

    Thanks for this awesome chance! Your book sounds amazing and I can’t wait till it gets released into the world.

     
  6. Adriana (@adicloud)

    November 5, 2012 at 6:59 am

    I’m picturing a poetry collection 🙂

    Coda

    The anthem rang bright in her throat, /
    it tasted like chrome /
    and sunsets /
    multiplied by corporate windows. /
    The music was twisted branches, /
    night spiraling /
    and she /
    with it, coiling /
    electric infinity between /
    short-circuit breaths.

     
  7. Matthew Bryant

    November 5, 2012 at 7:11 am

    Chrome blended into skin, as natural as a tree roots into the ground when the master held the pipes to his lips. Chords perspired from his skin, cloaked the man in a natural anthem of talent and passion. All eyes along the street were drawn to him, something in the music appealing to their cybernetic circuits. Full cyborgs and hybrids forgot themselves and their tasks, dropping everything to follow in the musician’s track. The man blew note after note, feet on the ground amidst a sky darkened by the Corporation skyscrapers, offering only reflections of a world somewhere out there.

     
  8. Ashley

    November 5, 2012 at 8:31 am

    If the corporation is his prison, the cubicle is his cell.

    He sits, drumming fingers on a keyboard. Tap, tap, tap. One cube over a pen joins, scratching a track of defiance. He hesitates. That’s Sara’s cube. Sara, all pencil skirt and severe ponytail… Sara? The scratching continues, picks up tempo; insists. He drums faster. Chrome wheels push away from a desk, slide back. A crescendo.

    He knocks the mug off his desk, careless. Pencils and pens cascade onto the floor. The spell is broken. The music stops, if there ever was any music to begin with.

    An impertinent anthem.

     
  9. Maddie

    November 5, 2012 at 11:39 am

    I hear the anthem playing behind me as I run. I’m not sure what I’m running from, but I know if I stop running something very bad will happen to me. All those years of track are really helping right now. I’m running in sync with the music, not daring to look back at whatever monster the corporation has sent for me. The coda of the anthem is playing when I trip over a rock. I try and fail to get back on my feet. I snap my eyes closed just as I feel a sharp claw clamp down on my shoulder.

     
  10. Tonja Drecker (@TDrecker)

    November 6, 2012 at 7:53 am

    The anthem boomed through my head for the up-teenth time. If the music was half-way decent, it wouldn’t have been a problem, but this thing was worse than the latest hit from that teenage idol Dustin Heaver… or was it Marvin Rieber?
    “Can’t we move on to the next track?” My head pulsated with pain.
    “The Corporation insists you know that song inside and out before going online.” The old man scratched his fingers through his scraggly hair.
    “Forget the Corporation.” I grabbed the wire and jammed it into the chrome plate behind my ear. “It’s time for something good.”

     
  11. Monica Ropal (@MonicaYAwriting)

    November 6, 2012 at 8:29 am

    I rest my cheek on the bumper of my brother’s ’66 Chev; my jeans grinding against the sandy driveway. My face distorts in the chrome reflection. My brother’s legs are wiggling around as he messes with the sub woofs in the trunk. Vibrations echo through my skull with the boom of the bass through the speakers. He’s had this track on repeat. He says it’s called “Corporation Beast.” It might as well be the Canadian National Anthem for as much as the music means to me, but the vibration is somehow pleasant. And here, I know I am safe.

     
  12. kiperoo

    November 6, 2012 at 8:52 am

    Friedrich Schiller listened to the words in his head, letting their music lull him into a state of suspension before he scribbled them down as quickly as he could: Ode to Joy. He didn’t know that someone from the Inspiration Corporation was watching.
    Grina held her breath as she waited for the moment. She’d headed back in time through chrome wires to track the brain waves of the famous poet in the instant he penned what became the anthem of her Republic.
    His face lit up, and the rainbow of inspiration bombarded her senses, distorting her world, setting her free.

     
  13. Jen Stayrook

    November 7, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    The Anthem played and Mara ran. If she didn’t reach the Chrome Port for plug in before the end of the Anthem, she would die. Feet pounded pavement around her, as the Cyborgs tried to make it to Corporation in time. Every night she raced as fast as her parts would allow, a sick track meet where losing meant being De-Ported.

    Only a few bars left.

    As the doors closed, she slid in, breathless. Plug. Anthem over.

    Looking back at the raceway, she saw the road littered with De-Ported cyborgs, just outside the door. Dead. She was lucky. Tonight.

    This is an awesome cover, Emma. So happy for you!

     
  14. Trinity

    November 7, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    My music addled brain saw a beautifully intricate record player on the cover. Clearly, I have issues.

    She placed the needle on the record waiting for their summer anthem to begin. Still remembering the nights spent in his car, the stolen kisses and promises. They’d track their favorite bands yearning to get lost in the beauty and chaos of crowded shows.
    He swore he wouldn’t get swept away, no job could ever be that important. More important than her.

    Of course The Corporation called. He packed his bags and promised he wouldn’t forget the music…their music. She stood watching him drive away, her eyes reflecting in the chrome what she already knew. He’d forget. They’d make him.

     
  15. emmatrevayne

    November 8, 2012 at 7:33 am

    And we’re done! Give me a few days to judge the entries, and then I’ll announce the winner here and on Twitter. Thanks for playing and coming up with such cool drabbles, everyone!

     
  16. James V. Mitchell

    April 1, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    So I actually randomly found your book at my college and what really got my eye was the cover. So far I really like this book.

     
    • emmatrevayne

      April 9, 2013 at 9:27 am

      I hope you like it all the way to the end! Thanks for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
