RSS

A not-quite-contest kind of contest

07 Mar

CODA comes out in TWO MONTHS! I’m a mix of excited and terrified, but mostly excited. This isn’t really a post about that. I mentioned on Facebook a while ago that I’d be running two big contests to celebrate the CODA launch and this is one of them, and while it’s not quite as contest-y as the other, I am doing it for reasons.

Some of you know that CODA’s main character, Anthem, is bisexual, and some of the other characters are gay. If you know this, you’ll know it’s not what the book is about, though obviously it is part of who those characters are and helps to shape them. I do a lot of pretty mean things to my characters in CODA, things it was hard for me to write, but one thing I gave this otherwise largely cruel, unforgiving world in which I put them was tolerance, at least in this one respect. It would be nice to live in a world where all kinds of sexuality weren’t even just tolerated, but embraced, and this one thing I gave Anthem and his friends.

But we don’t live in that world. Every day, teenagers and kids Anthem’s age–and younger–struggle against intolerance, injustice, and cruelty just because of who they are. This is what their daily lives are about.

So here’s what we’re going to do. Between now and May 7th, CODA’s publication date, all you have to do is leave a comment here. You don’t have to tweet or Facebook (though both those things are appreciated) and you don’t have to buy anything. Just leave a comment that proves to me you’re not a robot or crazy spammer. 10 of you will get signed, finished copies of CODA. ONE of you will get every single cool CODA-related item I can make, buy, beg from my publishers, or otherwise put my hands on. I don’t know everything you’ll get, yet, but it will definitely include of of my last remaining ARCs, a finished copy of the book, a one-of-a-kind annotated manuscript (the only one I’ll ever give away for CODA), and various kinds of fun, silly swag including stuff that flashes, glows, or would otherwise help you get ready for your neighborhood rave if this were 1998 or 2198.

And here’s what I’m going to do: for every comment this post gets, I will donate $1 to The Trevor Project, an organization that provides support and resources to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered youths, up to a maximum of $1000. Maybe one day we can live in a world that accepts everyone for who they are–though not, I hope, one that controls our minds with MP3 files.

Why are you doing this publicly? Because I’d be doing it privately anyway. This way I get to give away some swag and maybe give an amazing organization a tiny bit of extra exposure.

Are you sure you don’t need to buy anything? Yes.

Can I win if I live on the moon? Yep. Wherever you are, I’ll send you a BIG BOX OF STUFF if your name gets picked out of the digital hat.

I have a question, should I ask in the comments? No, please don’t. I’ll start another post to cover questions if need be. In the meantime, please email any and all questions to emma [at] emmatrevayne [dot] com.

My comment isn’t showing up! I have comment moderation turned on so that spammers don’t jam things up. I’ll approve comments several times a day. If yours still hasn’t appeared after a day or two, let me know.

This has been an incredible year for me, and I need to pay it forward. Help me?

Em

 
70 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

70 responses to “A not-quite-contest kind of contest

  1. caren

    March 7, 2013 at 7:40 am

    I’m first, does this mean I win? πŸ˜›

    Also, ILY.

     
  2. Karin

    March 7, 2013 at 7:41 am

    You, my dear, are all sorts of awesome! β™₯
    nae

     
  3. melanie conklin (@MLConklin)

    March 7, 2013 at 7:46 am

    Yay for the Trevor Project! I love that you are doing this, and that you’ve explained your reasons so succinctly. I can’t wait to read CODA. πŸ™‚

     
  4. Laura

    March 7, 2013 at 7:50 am

    I can’t wait for this book. It’s definitely going to be one of my non-school-related summer reads. πŸ™‚

     
  5. Danielle D

    March 7, 2013 at 8:07 am

    This is such an amazing idea, and The Trevor Project will benefit from this

     
  6. thewritingspider

    March 7, 2013 at 8:25 am

    This is such an awesome idea! I come from a Southern state that still struggles with racism, bigotry, and homophobia. Every little bit we can do to make those things of the past is great.

     
  7. Aa'Ishah

    March 7, 2013 at 8:26 am

    This is amazing. It’s so sad that so many people get picked on because of their sexual orientation, and it’s great to be able to support something that in turn gives support to those people. CODA sounds fantastic as well. Thanks for the giveaway! πŸ™‚

     
  8. Britt

    March 7, 2013 at 9:32 am

    So long, and thanks for all the feet. πŸ˜‰

    A brilliant idea, though you already know I think that. Thank you!

     
  9. Angela Helm

    March 7, 2013 at 9:34 am

    I love this idea. And the message of The Trevor Project. And you.

    And CODA.

    And Anthem, natch.

     
  10. thedharmadiva

    March 7, 2013 at 9:36 am

    Such a great thing to do for a wonderful organization. It’s also fantastic that you’ve given kids out there counterparts in fiction that I assume are able to overcome most anything. We need more of this.

     
  11. Shannon L.

    March 7, 2013 at 9:38 am

    Placed a pre-order for your book on Amazon. Can’t wait. I’ve ordered it as you’re a friend of the awesome Brittany L, and because of that I’ve taken your book suggestions as well. By the way, your bangs are so cool. If I wasn’t who I am, and didn’t work at the same place as Brittany L. . . . I would love to do the same myself.

     
  12. Venis Images

    March 7, 2013 at 9:49 am

    Commenting to say, A: You’re amazing, and this is a fantastic idea. And 2: You’ll sign my copy anyway, right? I mean, I’ll be flying thousands of miles to see you and get my copy. XD

     
  13. Claire McAloney King

    March 7, 2013 at 10:44 am

    Yay for awesome books and awesome organizations!!!!! So excited for you, and major kudos for supporting an incredible cause ❀

     
  14. Just Shireen

    March 7, 2013 at 10:57 am

    I love you so much.

    So very much.

     
  15. rebecca (@_becs_)

    March 7, 2013 at 11:06 am

    I adore you and this idea. I don’t even care if I win, I’m buying a book and making you sign it anyway. ❀

     
  16. Patty Blount

    March 7, 2013 at 11:24 am

    What a wonderful idea! So thrilled for you and can’t wait to read CODA even if I don’t win πŸ˜‰

    PS. My current project features a gay best friend and I really don’t know where he came from. The character just decided he was gay and I’m going with him. I only hope I can write him with the sensitivity he deserves.

     
  17. Becca Bows (@dweezlepip)

    March 7, 2013 at 11:57 am

    I’m so excited to read this! I’m glad Brie told me about you and your book FOREVER ago!

     
  18. Lynne

    March 7, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    awesome cause!

     
  19. tonya.

    March 7, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    You are the best. ❀

     
  20. Tina Connor Myers

    March 7, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    Thank You..You are awesome!!

     
  21. LyudmylaM

    March 7, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    What a generous and wonderful thing to do! Congratulations on your upcoming book!

     
  22. Barbara Ellingson

    March 7, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    LOVE the Trevor project. Thank you, Emma. This is super cool.

     
  23. Lauren Spieller (@laurenspieller)

    March 7, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    woot!

     
  24. Heidi Schulz

    March 7, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    You are wonderful. That is all.

     
  25. Valerie

    March 7, 2013 at 2:02 pm

    Now this is the kind of promotion I can get behind! Thank you for making the world a better place and I look forward to reading your book when it comes out.

     
  26. mittensmorgul

    March 7, 2013 at 2:02 pm

    This is a fantastic cause. Understanding and tolerance are not too much to ask for. Looking forward to CODA. πŸ™‚

     
  27. _Sandra_

    March 7, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Such an awesome idea and a beautiful cause. πŸ™‚ Already pre-ordered your book, but wouldn’t mind having one signed by you. πŸ™‚

     
  28. Hong Tran

    March 7, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Wow! I admire your generosity. What a lovely cause to support the youths πŸ™‚

     
  29. jeffdecoursey

    March 7, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Great idea. Count me in.

     
  30. Colten H.

    March 7, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    Every little bit more I hear about this book the more I cannot wait to read it! I’m so thrilled that you found these characters and this story, and my gratitude for your support of The Trevor Project cannot be conveyed with mere words. Telling everyone about this!

     
  31. MamaPhan (@MamaPhan)

    March 7, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    This is freaking fantastic on so many levels. Not only are you doing an awesome thing, but you are a (insert adjective here because I ran/walked two miles today & am tired) person. iLY. ❀

    I am seriously excited to read it. Seriously.

     
  32. Katherine Catmull

    March 7, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Emma, what an incredibly lovely thing to do.

     
  33. John Hansen

    March 7, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    You are amazing, and this is amazing. Seriously can’t wait for the release!

     
  34. Alexia

    March 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    This is great! I think it’s wonderful that you’re writing something that supports LGBT youth, and that you’re donating to an organization that also supports them. It never ceases to amaze me, in 2013, why young people are still getting teased about this. It’s nuts. So, huzzah you! And can’t wait to read the book.

     
  35. Jay C. Spencer (@SpencerToday)

    March 7, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    What an amazing idea Emma.

     
  36. Krissy

    March 7, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    I want to live in this world of tolerance you speak of. It might not be here today but hopefully soon.

     
  37. jessiedevine

    March 7, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    This is a wonderful idea! Also, I’m reading CODA whether I win or not. πŸ˜€

     
  38. Jill C

    March 7, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    You are amazing. And so excited for you and CODA. Cannot wait.

     
  39. Deirdre

    March 8, 2013 at 12:01 am

    I think it’s great that you are doing something good in relation to your book coming out. Kudos.

     
  40. Lisa @ Fic Talk

    March 8, 2013 at 3:55 am

    You, my friend, are just amazing. I love you and Anthem. ❀

    Such a great thing you're doing here. πŸ™‚

     
  41. Kristin

    March 8, 2013 at 6:33 am

    Awesome idea…can’t wait for CODA.

     
  42. Steph Sessa

    March 8, 2013 at 6:56 am

    This is awesome! I am super excited to read CODA!

     
  43. Anna

    March 8, 2013 at 7:11 am

    As always, you are amazing. I’m so happy for you, excited for this first of many book successes for you, and proud that I have a friend with such a good heart.

     
  44. Terri Troyan

    March 8, 2013 at 7:21 am

    Your book sounds very powerful & I am anxious to read it.

     
  45. kiperoo

    March 8, 2013 at 7:49 am

    Oh! What an amazing thing to do. As you know, I can’t wait to read CODA and I am thrilled that my little comment is also helping the Trevor Project. Awesome!

     
  46. Jen Stayrook

    March 8, 2013 at 8:41 am

    What an amazing thing you’re doing, Emma! Also, maybe you should put a link to The Trevor Project, just in case people do want to donate. ❀

     
  47. β™” Stephanopolis (@SinMotion)

    March 8, 2013 at 9:31 am

    Emma, I’m so excited to finally being able to read your book soon. Also, I love this post and your continued commitment to the LGBTQ community. Someday soon I hope tolerance will be overshadowed my embrace.

     
  48. Gail Bragg

    March 8, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    Can’t wait to read your book! Who are we, as humans, to judge anyone for their sexuality or at all.

     
  49. NKR (@nicekittyrawr)

    March 15, 2013 at 6:05 am

    I love that you are doing a giveaway in this way. You’re such an amazing person. I’m incredibly excited about CODA!

     
  50. Brian Farrey

    March 15, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    Yay Trevor Project!

     
  51. Aeicha @ Word Spelunking

    March 17, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    This is such an awesome and amazing idea! The Trevor Project is such a worthy and important cause. And I’m so glad your book features diverse characters. I think YA needs more bisexual characters.

     
  52. Tricia Clasen (@TriRae)

    March 19, 2013 at 5:35 am

    I am so excited for you and I can’t wait to read. I also appreciate your cause very much.

     
  53. Andrea Kraynak

    March 21, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Thanks for all you are doing to promote acceptance for everyone, regardless of who they love.

    I can’t wait to read your book!

    -Andrea

     
  54. David Yenoki (@davidshead)

    March 31, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    I’m leaving a comment to enter the contest. I think it’s a very cool idea (to match comments and donations) and I can’t wait to read the book!

     
  55. Jarred

    April 2, 2013 at 4:29 pm

    Emma, thanks for this amazing opportunity!

     
  56. Christina2227

    April 9, 2013 at 9:35 am

    You are such an inspiration because this is an amazingly admirable idea. I’d love to be a winner, but I can’t help already feeling like a winner for doing my small part for such a worthy cause.

    I’ve had my eye on this little gem for at least a year when some twitter friends were singing its praises. Then there was the premise and that badass cover. Whether it comes from you or Barnes & Noble, I can’t wait to read this!

    Thanks for the giveaway opportunity and for being generally awesome!

    ~Christina

     
  57. yogacat (@yoga00cat)

    April 9, 2013 at 10:44 am

    ILY. This type of stuff should be incorporated into more “contests”. The ppl need to educated.

     
  58. tawney13

    April 9, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    Your book sounds awesome! If I don’t win an Arc I am defiantly buying it. No doubt about it. So mo worries! I love that you are donating $1 to the Trevor project. We need a world were everyone can be themselves. I love my Mom-n-laws and wish their union could be legal. Thank you! And congrats on the upcoming release! πŸ™‚

     
  59. Alexandre Maki

    April 11, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    I’m not a robot.
    *beep boop* πŸ˜€

    Thank you for the giveaway and for making it available anywhere in the world (or the solar system).

     
  60. Justine

    April 17, 2013 at 8:28 am

    This is such an awesome way to raise money!!! Yeah for everyone who comments and for you for donating that is great! Your book sounds like it will be awesome! Thanks for the giveaway!!

     
  61. Tammy Sparks

    April 17, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Wow, Emma! Love this idea. I’m all about paying it forward, too. Such a simple idea! I’m dying to read your book, in fact it was one of my Top Ten Most Anticipated books to read for Spring! Good luck getting lots of comments for your donation:) Thank you for the giveaway!

     
  62. Katie L

    April 17, 2013 at 9:20 am

    This makes me so happy. I love The Trevor Project, and I’m SUPER excited about this book. Unique and funky and fun, plus anything about music is way up my alley. Thanks!
    -Katie L
    @bibliogato
    bibliogato.tumblr.com
    writingwithcats.wordpress.com

     
  63. Mel@thedailyprophecy

    April 17, 2013 at 11:19 am

    This is such an awesome giveaway πŸ™‚ I just read a review about your book and I’m fascinated by the concept!

     
  64. leannessf;

    April 17, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    What a generous giveaway for the Trevor Project! I wish you all the success for your book!

    Thanks!
    Leanne

     
  65. Vivien

    April 17, 2013 at 1:16 pm

    Such a great contest!!
    @deadtossedwaves

     
  66. Kim

    April 17, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    This is a great giveaway. Really good for the Trevor Project too!

     
  67. Jessica Noreault

    April 19, 2013 at 12:32 am

    -Stamps self here-
    I do want this book. It shall be mine, and I shall hug it, and love it, and sleep with it.
    This is not creepy.
    I simply love the sound of this book.
    PS. I may very well be a robot…

     
  68. Tricia C.

    April 19, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    I wasn’t raised with a lot of music in my home, so I’m trying to expose my kids to lots of music. Intriguing to imagine a world controlled by music. I’m a 7th grade teacher and had between ten and fifteen students spend the day not talking. They were voluntarily silent in support of the end of LGBT bullying. I honor their action.

     
  69. Claire

    April 21, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Aaaaah! Such a great idea! I wish you the best of luck for your book and fundraiser!

     
  70. jengd

    April 29, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    Fantastic organization to support, fantastic giveaway! Heard about you from Heather Hall and looked up your book on Amazon. Best of luck with it-definitely looking forward to reading it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
